Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 22nd, 2009

I saw Walk the Line today

And I loved it! It was… beautiful. And the speech the record guy gave Johnny/Joaquin Phoenix near the beginning. Here it is:

[after record producer Sam Phillips stops Cash’s band a couple of verses into their audition]
Sam Phillips: You know exactly what I’m telling you. We’ve already heard that song a hundred times. Just like that. Just… like… how… you… sing it.
Johnny Cash: Well you didn’t let us bring it home.
Sam Phillips: Bring… bring it home? All right, let’s bring it home. If you was hit by a truck and you was lying out there in that gutter dying, and you had time to sing *one* song. Huh? One song that people would remember before you’re dirt. One song that would let God know how you felt about your time here on Earth. One song that would sum you up. You tellin’ me that’s the song you’d sing? That same Jimmy Davis tune we hear on the radio all day, about your peace within, and how it’s real, and how you’re gonna shout it? Or… would you sing somethin’ different. Somethin’ real. Somethin’ *you* felt. Cause I’m telling you right now, that’s the kind of song people want to hear. That’s the kind of song that truly saves people. It ain’t got nothin to do with believin’ in God, Mr. Cash. It has to do with believin’ in yourself.
Johnny Cash: [after a pause] I got a couple of songs I wrote in the Air Force. You got anything against the Air Force?
Sam Phillips: No.
Johnny Cash: I do.

source: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0358273/quotes

Now THAT scene is what made me fall in LOVE with the movie. It’s so inspiring. I loved it.

Read Full Post »

My novels

Italic = in-progress
Bold = finished
Strike Through = unfinished
Underline = in-development

  1. Same Differences. Crap. 9540 words.
  2. Surrendering. Crap, but I guess I learned something. 11990 words.
  3. Living. Sequel to Surrendering. Crap. 2276 words.
  4. Selene Younglood. Not crap. I’m hoping to rewrite it someday and finish it. 10 000 words.
  5. Unwanted Vampirism. Also crap. 4282 words.
  6. A Blanket Unwoven. Crap,but I know learned something. 31 333 words.
  7. Catching Rodrigo. Not crap. 3971 words.
  8. Nothing’s Changed. Kinda crap. 7023 words.
  9. The Veiled Moon. Not really crap. 4795 words.
  10. The Healing Process. Had potential. 596 words.
  11. Zoe. Don’t even remember it. 792 words.
  12. Hayley. Loved the main character. 663 words.
  13. Alice Whitley. Meh. 510 words.
  14. Emmeline. Ugh. 185 words.
  15. Her smile. Had potential, liked idea, lacked plot. 8365 words.
  16. Learning to Breathe. Not crap. Mostly. Some crappiness in the first few chapter, but chapter 7 is looking VERY good. 21 121 words.
  17. Playing with Darts. Hopefully no crappiness. Goal: 80 000 words. Achievable in a little more than 5 months if I write 500 words a day. 2534 words.

So, to recap, I’ve written:
2 novels
Started another 20 (that’s including a few when I was 10/11/12 and some when I was 13/14 so small they don’t even count)
42 poems
3 songs
1 fanfic
10 short stories
And countless stories for school
Overall: More than 150 000 words
Note to self: edit when I get home. Where I have a list of the names of my unfinished novels. And the word count. I’m OCD like that. Okay, the truth is I was bored, didn’t want to do homework. So I dug up ALL my stories, and using word count and a calculator I figured out how many words I’ve written. At the time: 105 000 words, more or less. Since then I’ve written a lot more. Thank God. I’m guessing it’s now 130 000 words. And I’m not even counting stories I started and didn’t finish when I was 10 and 11 and 12. And stories I was forced to write for school. If I counted every creative word I’ve ever written, it’d maybe come to 200 000 words. Or maybe even (hopefully) 300 000.

-Kayleigh

PS: Am leaving note to self, don’t feel like deleting it.

Read Full Post »

I’ve had a sudden burst of inspiration. Just wrote very emotional scene. Title courtesy of said scene. (Sister learned not to interrupt me during emotional scenes — I terrified her. I needed to be alone to write it.)

Read Full Post »